School Board Meeting – June 19, 2018 Regular Session

<u>CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL</u> – 7:00 P.M.

ESTABLISH A QUORUM AND PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

The Board of School Trustees of the John Glenn School Corporation met in regular session at 7:00 p.m. on June 19, 2018, at the John Glenn Administration Office. Board members present were Jeff Johnson, Dennis Holland, Christian Mattix, Bob Borlik, Curt Pletcher, and Janice Ryan. Bill Groves arrived after New Business items had been discussed and voted upon. Richard Reese, Superintendent, and 12 observers were also present.

RECOGNITIONS (WES, NLES, UMS, JGHS)

Mr. Tim Davis, Walkerton Elementary Principal, thanked Tyner UMC for all their efforts with the *Blessings in a Back Pack* program. WES had approximately 75 students who benefited from this program. Mr. Davis next recognized the FEED THE CHILDREN Teacher Store. Mr. Davis has been able to pick up office supplies, teacher chairs, white boards, computers, and much more throughout the school year, at no cost to the corporation. The Teacher Store recently provided books and food for the United Way Kindergarten Camps at both NLES and WES.

Mr. Randy Romer, North Liberty Elementary School Principal, reported that the United Way Kindergarten Camp and Kindergarten through 12th grade Summer School Session I are going well. Mr. Romer thanked the custodial staff as they prepare for summer cleaning. The Kindergarten Camp attended the North Liberty Strawberry Festival recently, and rode the Greene Township Lions train and enjoyed strawberry shortcakes. Kindergarten Camp ends June 22 and Summer Session I ends June 29. In closing, Mr. Romer reported teachers have been attending some ILEARN workshops thru NIESC. ISTEP+ has been renamed "ILEARN", with testing changes occurring in spring of 2019. Kindergarten and 1st grade teachers and aides recently attended a training on Wilson Foundations – Language Training, which was funded by Title I.

Mr. Mark Maudlin, Urey Middle School Principal, asked the Board to accept the following donations:

- Falcon 500 \$200 End of Year Incentive Trip
- Falcon 500 \$60 Media Center Makerspace Materials
- Creed Septic System Specialists \$150 Urey Falloween Basket Raffle

Jeff Johnson made a motion to approve donations as presented and Dennis Holland seconded the motion. The motion passed with a vote of six to zero.

CONSENT AGENDA ITEMS #1 – 4

- 1. Approve Minutes June 5, 2018 Regular Session
- 2. Approve Claims 639 698
- 3. Approve Personnel Recommendations

Retirements/Resignations

- a. Beth Schmeltz Counselor, John Glenn High School., 24 years of service
- b. Lisa Harrington 7th Grade Team Leader, Urey Middle School

Appointments/Transfers

a.	Justin Hall	Special Education Teacher, John Glenn High School		
b.	Abby McNeil	Social Studies Teacher, John Glenn High School		
c.	Clara Beck	Music Teacher, Walkerton Elementary School		
d.	Kelley Edelbrock	Speech Pathologist, John Glenn School Corporation		
e.	Dyan Phillips	7 th Grade Team Leader, Urey Middle School		
f.	Dave Dickinson	Transfer from Freshman Girls' Volleyball Coach to JV Girls' Volleyball		
		Coach, John Glenn High School		
g.	Amy Mappes	School Nurse, North Liberty Elementary School		
h.	Angela Lile	7 th Grade Math Teacher, Urey Middle School		
i.	Arden Balmer	Increase from ½ time to Full Time Summer School Math Teacher, John		
		Glenn High School		
j.	Amanda Mortensen	5 Additional Days Summer School Pay, John Glenn High School		
k.	Angela Kramer	ela Kramer 5 Additional Days Summer School Pay, John Glenn High School		
1.	Laura Undem	Algebra I Instructional Aide, Summer School Session I, John Glenn High		
		School		
m.	Gerry Brown	Extended Contract - 15 additional days, Urey Middle School		
n.	Beth Schmeltz	Extended Contract – 5 additional days, John Glenn High School		

4. Transfer Student Requests

There are currently 429 requests for transfer into the John Glenn School Corporation, including the following new requests: Braylee Howard, WES/3; Hunter Howard, WES/4; Sophee Howard, WES/3; Brooke Osenbaugh, JGHS/12; Jacob Taddeo, JGHS/9; and Addison Young, WES/4.

Jeff Johnson made a motion to approve Consent Agenda Items one through four and Christian Mattix seconded the motion. The motion passed with a six to zero vote.

New employees were introduced to the board. Those employees present included Cole Seward (approved June 5, 2018), Justin Hall, Abbey McNeill, Kelley Edelbrock, Amy Mappes, and Angela Lile.

NEW BUSINESS

1) Approve 2018-19 Cafeteria Prices

Breakfast prices and milk prices did not increase this year. However, elementary and secondary lunch prices have increased by ten cents. Elementary lunches will now be \$2.10 and secondary lunches will be \$2.35. Christian Mattix made a motion to approve the 2018-19 school lunch prices as presented, and Curt Pletcher seconded the motion. The motion passed with a six to zero vote.

2) Approve Resolution to appoint Deborah Johnson as Small Claims Court Representative

Deborah Johnson is the corporation representative in small claims court, collecting delinquent textbook rental fees. Bob Borlik made a motion to approve the resolution to appoint Deborah Johnson as Small Claims Court Representative and Dennis Holland seconded the motion. The motion was approved with a six to zero vote.

3) Approve FMLA Leave for Employee # 1000

Jeff Johnson made a motion to approve FMLA Leave for employee #1000. Curt Pletcher seconded the motion, and the motion passed with a vote of six to zero.

REPORTS

1. Superintendent's Report

Richard Reese, Superintendent, reported on the ISBA Budgeting Workshop he attended on June 13, 2018. Mr. Reese also noted that high school administration is still searching for a Spanish Teacher. There seems to be a shortage of Spanish Teachers in this area.

BOARD COMMENTS/QUESTIONS

Jeff Johnson reminded board members of the upcoming ISBA/IAPSS Collective Bargaining Seminar on July 27, 2018.

Mr. Reese noted that three board member seats will be up for re-election this year. Janice Ryan, Bill Groves, and Dennis Holland will be retiring the end of 2018.

NEXT MEETING DAT	E: <u>July 27, 2018</u>	7:00 P.M. AI	OMN Regular Session
<u>ADJOURNMENT</u>			
Janice Ryan called the m	neeting adjourned at 7:3	77 p.m.	
PRES			
SEC'Y		-	
		_	
		_	
		_	
		_	